Why this topic?

Before I begin expressing my feelings about Allah’s beautiful names, I think I should first write about the reason why I chose this awesome topic.

The truth is that I am feeling really so small and ignorant in front of the vastness of this subject and that is one reason why I have let so many days go by in just mustering up my courage to begin this journey…

Yes! to me it feels exactly like taking off on a voyage across a vast ocean… the hope of making new discoveries urges me forward… while the fear of my incapability and inadequacy pulls me back…

But then I reminded myself that all power and perfection is with Allah… it is He who takes us across oceans… it is His power that moves us forward…

Therefore what can be more important than learning about Him? What pleasure or comfort can be more fulfilling than the knowledge of the One for whose recognition and closeness our hearts keep yearning?

And the truth is that we can never be at peace, until we know Him… and understand Him… through His names.

To learn about these beautiful names is absolutely essential because our faith cannot be complete unless we know about the One on whom we have faith…

And so in the Quran Allah urges us to call Him through these awesome names:

وَلِلَّهِ الْأَسْمَاءُ الْحُسْنَىٰ فَادْعُوهُ بِهَا ۖ وَذَرُوا الَّذِينَ يُلْحِدُونَ فِي أَسْمَائِهِ ۚ سَيُجْزَوْنَ مَا كَانُوا يَعْمَلُون

And Allah’s are the best names, therefore call on Him thereby, and leave alone those who violate the sanctity of His names; they shall be recompensed for what they did.

 

 

Leave a Reply

